Jharkand Election Result: Congress-JMM Beats BJP

Jharkand Election Result: Congress-JMM Beats BJP

Out of the 81 Assembly seats, Opposition Congress-JMM combine is so close to the majority mark (42). The Congress-Jharkhand Mukti Morcha alliance is leading in 40 seats, whereas ruling BJP is leading in 28 seats, as per the early trends.

Sitting CM Raghubar Das, who is contesting against own party rebel Saryu Rai, is said to be leading in Jamshedpur East, a seat that he has been winning since 1995. But Raghubar may have to resign as the opposition Congress-JMM is ahead of the ruling party. However, Congress-JMM may slightly fall short of the magic figure as others such as AJSU in 6 seats, JVM in 4 seats and independents leading in 3 seats. If the same trend continues, independents may turn vital for Congress-JMM combine.

According to noted election analysts, BJP's proposed amendments to the Land Acquisition Act, 2013 in Jharkhand state have got the ire of the Adivasis and tribes in the region. As per analysts, SCs and STs said to have given rude shock to BJP. BJP has banked upon the votes of OCs and OBCs in the election which seems to have not given the due result.

Jharkhand is the state mostly ruled by the BJP ever since it was formed from Bihar in 2000. However, no Chief Minister of the state has ever won consecutive polls. And the latest election trends also indicate the fall of Raghubar Das' government in the state.

Since Jharkhand is the third BJP-ruled state that voted this year after the national election 2019 which gave thumping majority to Narendra Modi and this is the immediate Assembly election after BJP losing power in Maharashtra (although BJP emerged as the largest party in Maha polls), the Jharkhand result is crucial for the BJP. In the wake of CAA protests across the nation, Jharkhand result is certainly critical for Modi-Shah government at the Centre. More details are awaited.

Political Stories

Movie News