Divide AP into four regions: Capital Committee

Divide AP into four regions: Capital Committee

The committee appointed by AP government for capital and development, has made interesting revelations. The GN Rao committee suggested the state government to divide the state into four regions as part of decentralised planning and in fact backed the Jagan's proposal but suggested that Vizag should be made as 'Administrative capital' instead of 'Executive Capital.'

Speaking to the media, committee members said, "For sake of efficient administration, the state should be divided as North Coastal, Central Coastal, South Coastal and Rayalaseema regions like the Karnataka model. The capital city needs to be free from flood situation and so Vizag is apt for having Chief Minister's Office (CMO), Secretariat and summer assembly sessions. Also the all the government offices can be placed in Vizag while Raj Bhavan and current Assembly be at Tullur. As per the Sri Bhag agreement the High Court should be in Kurnool while the HC bench should be established in Tullur and Vizag."

The committee further added that in the state there are regional inequalities and AP being a coastal state, the environment should be protected and move ahead in development. "We have travelled 10,600 kilometres across the 13 districts and made suggestions to the government," said committee members.

AP CM Jagan has called for cabinet meeting on December 27th and after that an all-party will be held in January first week. The government will seek the opinion of oppositions based on the GN Rao committee.

Overall it looks like Vizag city is likely to become the new capital of Andhra Pradesh.

Political Stories

Movie News