Karnataka By-Polls: BJP wins majority seats

Karnataka By-Polls: BJP wins majority seats

In a boost to the ruling party in Karnataka, BJP has won majority of the seats in the by-elections. These results will help BJP to retain the government as it needed six seats strength in the assembly.

After Congress and JD(S) coalition government failed to prove their majority, 17 rebel Congress MLAs were disqualified. For 15 seats the by-polls were held on December 5th.

So far seven constituencies' results are declared and BJP has won six among while Congress confined to just one. Congress leader DK Siva Kumar accepted the defeat after the majority trends are in favour of the saffron party and added that he and the party are not disheartened by the result.

Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa celebrated the victory with party cadre and he was joined by his son BY Vijayendra.

Political Stories

Movie News